fit chick of the week

Jessica Simpson (circa Dukes of Hazzard)

Although Jessica Simpson isn’t known for her admirable consistency when it comes to food and exercise, to get in shape for the movie the Dukes of Hazard she worked her booty off to fit into those famous short shorts…and it paid off.

We can take away a lot of great pointers from her training during the filming period.

“Immediately when I found out that I had the part, I thought it would be best to be able to have something to work towards or else I’ll stick to my fried food and taco bell. To have something, a goal, is awesome; so I ate my last piece of chocolate cake when I found out and ever since then I’ve tried to cut sugar out of my diet except fruit.”

“For the most part, I eat healthy and work out for two hours everyday. I try to stay away from sugars as much as I can, which is hard. I basically work out two hours a day. Last night I finally got to go to the gym at ten o’clock… and I was on the treadmill for an hour.”

Her trainer for the film dished on some of the secrets as well:

Alexander put Simpson on a workout regimen of running combined with squats, lunges and weight-resistance exercises to “lean her out,” he says. “She was strong, but I realized her endurance wasn’t that great.” Exercising nearly two hours a day, Simpson felt the results. “I didn’t have a butt, so I did lots of squats,” she says. By the time she was in shape for shooting, “I was like, ‘You can make the shorts a little bit shorter.”

 

Her diet?

“Don’t Eat Crap Diet”: a South Beach Diet-style low-carb, high-protein menu of mostly grilled chicken, fish and green vegetables. If she ever cheated—”I can’t deprive myself of things because then I obsess about it and end up eating,” she says—she would make it up with an extra-intense workout. “I watched my diet and was in the gym to walk proud,”

In the spirit of Halloween week, Daisy Duke is a perfect icon of inspiration for all of you ladies who are scrambling to get in tip top shape for your costumes. Hard work pays off and her movie is out there to prove it.  It’s never too late to make your workout a little more intense and to feel the burn just a little bit more in the gym. Use Jessica’s amazing body as inspiration for your next gym visit and remember, she isn’t blessed with super skinny jeans. Workout for that extra 10 minutes on the treadmill or push yourself two extra levels on the stairmaster. You’ll leave the gym feeling proud, confident and ready to put on your festive outfit!

An extra tid bit:

Do 25 squats and 10 pushups before you go out on Halloween. It’ll give your bod an extra boost and help you feel great in your costume.

Happy Halloween!

via: shapefit.compeople.com

Leave a Reply

